In September of 1982, a meeting was called for the express purpose of forming a non-partisan, non-political, non-profit organization to raise funds to provide scholarships for deserving students who reside in Cape Coral. Attending this meeting was former Mayor Price, Detective Roger Butler, John Crawford, John Thinnes, Jim White, and Lee Blyer. As a result, Articles of Incorporation were drawn up for the Cape Coral Mayors Youth Fund. It was patterned after the President’s Council with the incumbent mayor as Honorary Chairman.


In 1996, we were incorporated, changed our name to the Cape Coral Mayors Scholarship Fund, Inc., and obtained a 501(c)(3) status. With each passing year our organization has grown. In 1983, we provided two scholarships for a total of $500. In 2019, we were able to provide 26 $1,500 scholarships, reflecting the strong participation of previous sponsors, new sponsors, and returning sponsors.

Of those 26 in 2019, 2 were scholarships for individuals to enter into a trade, vocational, or technical program which is something we hope to expand on due to the demand of our local community and its workforce needs. To date, it is estimated that the Fund has provided almost $850,000 in scholarships to deserving high school graduates. We are anticipating a very successful 2020 program due to last year’s response and the excitement our Fund is generating in the community.